What’s Tripping You Up?

Yesterday in church the reading was Colossians 2:6-15. Verse 8 particularly struck me, as it summed up something I had been thinking for a while.

See to it that no one takes you captive by philosophy and empty deceit, according to human tradition, according to the elemental spirits of the world, and not according to Christ.

This verse can apply to loads of things, but for myself it speaks to the shaping of my own worldview and how in recent years I let it be informed by earthly philosophies rather than by Christ. And in particular how I let my compassion – which I believe is something which comes from the Holy Spirit – be somewhat eradicated from my being as it interfered with my economic and political philosophies, not to mention my cynical mindset.

This is not to say that I turned completely heartless. And this is not to say that my economic and political beliefs were completely devoid of Christian thought. Neither is true. However – what I found myself doing was allowing my daily instinct and thought to be grounded on on these earthly philosophies, which are something other than Christ.

I am so thankful that I became aware of this. And that God is now healing and restoring my heart to a place it once was – a better version, even.

How easy it is to be caught up in the thought processes of the world. To water down our beliefs, harden our hearts, make excuses for things which have no place in our lives. Thankfully the God of grace is ready to take us back, open our eyes, and enable us to see the real truth.

~ by Pants on 3 May, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
